What Are You “About”?

I absolutely LOVE searching around WordPress (and other blogs), looking for new things to enjoy. There are so many gifted and talented people out there (plus a few amusing nutters) putting such fascinating content into the public domain, free of charge and at the click of a button. Awesome.

Lots of people, however, have very disappointing “About” pages. I like reading “About” people. It doesn’t have to be a vast essay (mine isn’t) but when you read somebody’s blog, it is nice to know something about where they are coming from. Screw Barthes and his stupid “Death of the Author” theory, I need to “know” you. Even if you have a passion about a single subject, and focus an entire blog exclusively on that subject, it is pleasing to understand the origins of your love-affair. Or at least have an inkling.

If I come to your blog, taste a little sample of your genius, crave to explore your essence and click on “About”… There is no greater smack in the face than seeing:

This is an example of a WordPress page, you could edit this to put information about yourself or your site so readers know where you are coming from. You can create as many pages like this one or sub-pages as you like and manage all of your content inside of WordPress..

What are you THINKING? You can’t even be bothered to write anything about yourself? Maybe that in itself says something about you… But it isn’t enough for me.

I know that sometimes people adopt alternative personas online. I think this is perfectly valid and I don’t need to have people explain to me that they are not all they seem. BUT, if somebody is going to construct an online identity, they should at least be consistent. One “About” I came across said this: “I don’t plan on going out of my way to specify which stories are fact, or which are fiction. That will be up to you to figure out – or not.” Well thanks for the warning, I suppose. I don’t want to have to engage with someone and then pick out the random lies, thanks. Even though I sometimes tweak reality a tiny bit, to make better reading… Either I get to know Real You, or Fake You – I don’t have the energy for both.

So that’s it really. If you haven’t written “About” yourself, do it NOW. I’m waiting.

19 responses to “What Are You “About”?

  1. I have to say I feel the same way, mine isn’t fantastic but when I view someones About Me, and there is nothing there it is a bit disheartening.

    It makes me think, well if you cannot write about yourself then why write? It’s something I feel people should easily be able to do.

    The whole fake persona aswell, I absolutly detest when someone slips up with their fake identities.

    Glad to find someone else who feels the same way :)

  2. same here, I do read at least 5 new blogs every day (which when saying it, feels a little bit sad but hey, it’s my life) and I do check out the about quite quickly and it is disheartened to see the generic wordpress text. If you are gonna blog, do so but for god sake, just say a little thing about you, thats why people love to read blogs, you kinda wanna know who the person blogging is…

  3. I’m about vodka, cigarettes and pussy.

  4. My “About” is out there for all to see. I must admit I’m bad about reading other peoples’ “About” information. I’ll be better about it in the future. :-)

    • Hahaha! I don’t think you should be forced to read them (that would be unfair) – I just think that people should be forced to write them. Possibly at gunpoint.

  5. As far as I know I am the world’s only physician bluegrass fiction writer. That might give me the same staure as the tiddlywinks champion of New Zealand, but at least you gotta admit I’m unique.

    Dr. B

    drtombibey.wordpress.com

  6. Very cool, very flattered. Look for my book, “The Mandolin Case,” due out soon. It is a medical mystery solved by the local bluegrass community. The truth is not in science, but in music, and the mandolin holds many clues.

    Dr. B

  7. Good post, and thanks for your response on my recent blog. You’ve inspired me to clean-up my ‘about me’ page!

  8. I hate seeing that default “about” message too, drives me crazy. If you went to the trouble to start a blog, don’t you know what it’s going to be about? Even if it’s about “nothing” you could at least put down that you don’t have a clue. Anything’s better than that default message!

    • Indeed, it is very lacking in style to leave the default up. Mind you, I think my blog could use a bit more effort on the visual front. All in good time. Heh.

Leave a Reply

