Berserk Leg Problem

Tonight, Dave and I watched a TV show where they demonstrated some brilliant technology, that allows people to control things with their minds. By wearing a funny little electronic headset, you can control adapted vehicles (or whatever) just by thinking about where (and how fast) you want them to go. Awesome!

ME: This is brilliant! Soon they’ll be able to make special legs (or leg braces) for people who are disabled – then the wearers will be able to control those legs with their minds ! They will be able to walk!

DAVE: Yeah.

ME: Oh, but it could be dangerous!

DAVE: How?

ME: What if the disabled person was walking down the road and then remembered they hadn’t locked the back door, or paid the rent? They might start thinking about that and get stressed. If they got stressed their legs might go out of control and run in front of a car! Or, say they started having an argument with their girlfriend – their legs might go berserk and jump off a bridge!

DAVE: Why?

ME: Because they are being controlled by the person’s mind! If they lose concentration, or get upset, their legs could do ANYTHING!

DAVE: I’m going to go out on a limb here and suggest that their legs will not go berserk because they’ve suddenly remembered the gas bill.

ME: How do you know THAT? You’re not an expert!

DAVE: No… But I assume the disabled people will be learning how to control their legs before leaving the house and after that there is no reason for robot legs to rampage around the streets, with a disabled victim balanced on top of them, is there? Why would thinking about something unpleasant cause their legs to do that? I ‘m fairly sure that I control MY legs with MY mind and they don’t do wild and violently inexplicable things, at the drop of a hat, do they?

ME: No. Oh yeah… Even if you’re not disabled, you do control your legs with your mind, don’t you? I forgot that.

DAVE:  You’re a dickhead.

(Please note the link to SoylentDave  on my Blogroll. Yes, that’s him).

21 responses to “Berserk Leg Problem

  1. “I’m going to go out on a limb here…” Ha, ha!

  2. LOL! That so reminds me of conversations I used to have with my ex from long ago. You guys are funny. ;)

  3. Professor Liddle-Oldman

    Grommet! These are the *wrong legs*!

  4. That sounds a lot like a movie I just rented called “Surrogates.” It’s with Bruce Willis. It was pretty interesting actually, where people did exactly what you describe, except with robot replicas of themselves.

    I don’t know who controls my legs. Clearly it’s not me. Whoever it is, I wish they’d stop making me bump into crap and stub my toe.

  5. “there is no reason for robot legs to rampage around the streets, with a disabled victim balanced on top of them, is there? ”

    HAHAHAHA!

    When I heard about the mind controlled stuff I thought the same thing you did. I guess we are both dickheads. :-)

  6. 1. A leg may not injure a human being or, through inaction, allow a human being to come to harm.
    2. A leg must obey any orders given to it by human beings, except where such orders would conflict with the First Law.
    3. A leg must protect its own existence as long as such protection does not conflict with the First or Second Law.

  7. When the first man is fitted with this device, I can hear his wife now: “Don’t even THINK about going anywhere tonight – you’re staying home with me!”

  8. “You’re a dickhead!”
    Now, imagine if guys’ dicks were controlled by their minds instead of the other way around ;-)

  9. I laughed so hard at this!

  10. Thank you! That would be great if you blogroll it!

Leave a Reply

