Punk Pensioners?

The other day, I was walking home from the Asda, when I passed an Old People’s Home and some Sheltered Flats (for the elderly). Like me, the old people must have been enjoying the good weather, because lots of their windows were flung open… Which is why I was getting blasted by the loud Reggae music they were listening to. I have nothing against Reggae (which is the perfect soundtrack to a Summer’s day) but I was like “WTF? Little old ladies turning up the volume and skanking in their lounges?”.

Then I thought, “Why NOT?”.  After all, most of the people who live there are of Caribbean descent and, more importantly, the musical tastes of the elderly are not static. As people get old, they take the music of their own era into the Old People’s Homes with them. *I* might have imagined old people listening to songs from the War, or the Music Hall, but those things probably don’t interest them. Goodness knows, they might even find Elvis and Cliff Richard a bit dated.

I’m already 52, so I’m not far off needing Care myself. I can just imagine what it will be like when I’m 80. The staff will be organising Sing-Alongs (to jog our old memories) and we’ll all be joining in (in those thin reedy voices that old ladies have):

“We’re so pretty, oh so pretty, we’re VACANT!” (Sex Pistols) or,

“Time, he flexes like a whore, falls wanking to the floor” (David Bowie).

Then we will do some gentle pogo dancing and go off to have a lie down.

Scary stuff but almost certain to happen. As for the volume… We’re going to be playing the Punk and Glam Rock just as loud as the Reggae was being played, because we are going to be just as DEAF.

22 responses to “Punk Pensioners?

  1. whatigotsofar

    “I drive a Rolls Royce ‘cuz it’s good for my voice.”

    I would pay good money to see old people rocking out to T. Rex.

  2. This is so true!!! My fear is that it will become so embedded that old people like war songs that I (same age as you) will be force to look happy while singing We’ll meet again. It’s no wonder old ladies lose their marbles…I would, just to escape from the horror.

  3. Stiff Little Fingers will never sound better (or be more appropriate).

  4. Personally, I want to hear a bunch of old people jamming out to “Getting Jiggy wit It”.

  5. I hope I’m still bustin’ out mad Beastie Boys rhymes when I’m 80. If I’m anything like my grandma, I’ll remember all the words to every song off of Paul’s Boutique, but will have no clue what I had for breakfast.

  6. What about the kids of today? Rocking out to Brittany Spears, or Lady GaGa in the convalescent home. Yikes!

    (and isn’t it ASDA, not ADSA? ;) Curse my having been there a few times while in England)

  7. I can see me at 80, arthritic fingers attempting to grip the shuffleboard stick, softly humming the tender love ballad popularized by the Ramones all those years ago, “Now I Wanna Sniff Some Glue”.

    It brings a tear to my eye – but glue always does that when I first open the tube…

  8. I saw a documentary called Young at Heart that was about a chorus of elderly people singing songs by the Clash and Sonic Youth. I thought it was pretty interesting.

    When my husband is in the old folks’ home, he’ll be listening to “Baby Got Back” and “Hashpipe.” I am worried about the volume he will chose to listen to it though because he insists on listening to it at deafening levels already!

  9. LOL Yeah, we forget we take our music into our old age with us. When I was a kid, “oldies” music was stuff from the WWII era. Pretty soon “oldies” will be my Aerosmith stuff. :)

    Heh. It probably sort of already is. ;)

  10. HAHAHA! That’s funny.

    I too assumed music in the old folks home would be big band era type music. What’s going to happen when the younger generation brings death metal to the nursing homes and they set up a mosh pit?

Leave a Reply

