English Slang Words

I’m worn out today – so I decided to take the easy option and bang out a few slang words, for all you anglophiles to enjoy (and learn). At the very least, you’ll understand more of the British films and TV shows you love so much. They are in no special order, I’m afraid.

knackered = tired

fumin’ = angry

bollocked out = told off

skint = broke (no money)

pissed = drunk

made up = happy (content with)

tippin’ it down = raining hard

porkies = lies

fag = cigarette

minging = ugly, or dirty (rhymes with¬†“singing”)

played a blinder = played well (sport)

nicked = stolen (or arrested)

pinched = stolen (or arrested)

skiving = avoiding school, or work (rhymes with “driving”)

swinging the lead = pretending to be ill (“lead” as in the metal)

bloke = guy

muntered = very drugged up, or drunk

wankered = very drunk

daft = stupid

bangin’¬†tune = good song (Northern slang)

22 responses to “English Slang Words

  1. There’s a few there I’d never heard of. Regional slang, isn’t it great?

    Perhaps worth adding that while pissed = drunk, pissed off = annoyed.

  2. My favorite English adjective is shattered. It only sounds good with an English accent and really drives home the fact that a person is crushed. I LOVED hearing people say that while I was there. There’s another word that you lot use that means the same thing, but I can’t remember what it is atm…

  3. I have a question I hope you can help with. I’m watching “You Are What You Eat” and they’re talking about poppadums. What in God’s name is a Poppadum?
    Thanks!

    • http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Papadum

      I’d say Poppadom but as you can see, there are various words for them. They are giant, thin, crispy, discs of unleaven bread (but taste more like unsalted crisps, or “chips” as you’d call them). They accompany a curry, along with rice… Or, in an Indian restaurant, (we don’t mention a meal just say “Let’s go for a curry” or “Let’s go for an Indian”) the poppadoms are served as an appetiser (with various chutneys and sauces). Poppadoms are bland but that goes well with curry.

  4. ‘Crushed’ would be ‘gutted’, wouldn’t it?

  5. this is excellent since my love for the British accent is growing as i watch some british comedy shows here and there on BBC America.

    Thanks!

  6. I love this list! I have the urge to start using some of these terms in everyday conversation, but it might draw some strange looks. Also, if I state on my blog something like “Watch Roxy smoke a fag”, I suspect I’d see a whole new demographic who’ve found me through a search engine…

    • Start with “knackered”, they should be able to work out what you mean. Just slump into a chair and say “I need a sit down, I’m KNACKERED!”. Not very lady-like but I’m sure it wouldn’t hurt for you to be uncouth, for a change.

  7. I thought bollocks had something to do with balls? Hmm, maybe that was Ireland?

    I think the pissed one would offer the most cross-Atlantic amusement, because around here, whenever we’re angry, we say we’re pissed. Some add the “off” but most people I’ve ever heard, myself included – just say pissed. “OH! He makes me so pissed! I hope his teeth fall out!”

    Then there’s my favorite – “Confucius say ’tis far better to be pissed off, than pissed on.” ;)

  8. Congratulations for popping up under totally unrelated such criteria, well done. I’m always looking for new triggers for lengthy procrastination. Anyway’ live with Americans at the moment – don’t forget ‘sponging’

Leave a Reply

